Maui Mikes Fire Roasted Chicken on Oahu, Hawaii

20130805-145554.jpgDear taste buds gods in the cosmos do I love a good slow roasted piece of poultry. While the Huli Huli chicken is plentiful here (Huli in Hawaiian means to flip/turn over)- most of the huli glazes are shoyu based. The difference is that shoyu is soy sauce brewed with wheat, while tamari is brewed without.

But then I found Maui Mikes! Located in Wahiawa I was pulled in by my nose hairs crying for a taste! The place was packed as the woman taking orders told me everything served is gluten free minus the teriyaki dipping sauces. I reveled in joy as my hormone and antibiotic free lunch melted in my mouth like a good roasted chicken should: full of moist juices and smokey flavor with a crispy dark skin and Cajun fries on the side. I dipped them into my two sauces of choice, sweet BBQ and honey mustard both packing a punch full of flavor.

This seriously made my week. I haven’t had a roast chickie this good since I was in France. I’ll be back Maui Mike, you can count on that!

Located at:

96 S. Kamehameha Highway
Wahiawa, Oahu, Hawaii

Open Daily: 10:30am – 8:30pm
Tel: (808) 622-5900
http://mauimikes.com/
http://mauimikes.com/about-our-food.html

Positively yours,

The Gluten Free Traveler

Leave a Reply

