Konditorei (Pastry) Internship at Cafe Lobenstein and finding gluten free Stollen! – Erfurt, Germany

For next 9 months I live in Erfurt, Germany. Such a beautiful city where I have started my Konditorei (pastry) internship at Cafe Lobenstein which is not gluten free, but on the plus side uses organic flour. In Germany you specialize in either pastries/sweets/cake decorating ect which is called Konditorei or bread baking/Bäckerei. The system here is that you work as an intern for a few weeks then go to a vocational school (Berufschule) for a week; mine is for you guessed it, Baking and Pastry, then you rinse, rebake, and errr repeat. This is done over a period of three years. I learn German Konditorei techniques and make them gluten free at home. It is AWESOME and I have done so much already! The other workers are always bringing me tasty treats they’ve made that don’t have flour like chocolate truffles, meringue soufflés with raspberry cream filling, or dark chocolate dipped cherry florentine cookies. Here is a video I made over the technique for Truffle Torte:

]

My boss is great and the hilarious master Konditorin I am working under has a diamond in her tooth. You can see her in the article here as the Stollen Queen at www.Kochrebellion.com Yep she’s the one wearing the “Stollen Köningen” dress in this article about the upcoming Culinary Olympics to be hosted here in October!

Now Köningen means Queen, and Stollen is referring the the rich yeasted German Christmas cake like bread that is filled with candied fruits, spices, a hint ‘o rum and a dusting of powdered sugar on top. Yesterday I had the pleasure of finding GLUTEN FREE STOLLEN baked by 3 Pauly an allergen friendly bakery that ships food to retailers all over Germany

A little bit dry but super tasty; I’m officially an addict!

The place I bought it from is

Reformhaus
http://www.reformhaus-fischer.de/4.html
Schlösserstraße 34
Erfurt
Telephone: +49 0361 6464783

Well I need to go fatten up for the cold winter and eat another slice of Stollen, take care and schonen Abend! (good night!)

Positively yours,

The Gluten Free Traveler

3 thoughts on “Konditorei (Pastry) Internship at Cafe Lobenstein and finding gluten free Stollen! – Erfurt, Germany

  1. Hey Dallas,

    I am so excited you are getting this wonderful experience in Germany! I love reading your posts and hope you continue to learn lots during your time there 🙂 Do you think you will ever start a gluten free bakery?
    Rosemary

  2. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your blog? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit
    from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

