Radolfzell, Germany: “Ich lerne Deutsch!”

Wilkommen to Southern Germany! Thanks to an amazing fellowship I won with Congress Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionals 2011/2012  I get to spend the next 2 months of intensive language lessons lounging by the sand, followed by a semester of school then a 5 month long internship.

I now live in Radolfzell am Bodensee

It’s a charming little town close to the border of Switzerland. On a clear day after swimming in the Bodensee and eating some cheese and sausage with spicy mustard, I can see the sun setting on the alps. So dreamy.

Class at my Language School, the Carl Duisberg Centrum is challenging but how could I not be inspired by that building? Soon I’ll be dancing out of the front door, singing a song in perfect German as Prince Charming rides his horse (aptly named “Mercedes-Benz”) over to pick me up to go to:

THE best place for a culinary adventure, the farmers market in the square (along Bahnhof Platz 2) held every Weds and Sat 7am until around 2pm. For less produce and more of locally prepared foods, wines, and cheeses like the one I bought below there is a Thursday Abendmarkt (evening market) held from 4-7pm.

Now, If I could choose how to age it would be just like this cheese; covered in flowers stinking to high heavens. Pungent and semi-hard with large holes reminiscent of swiss, an acidic tang hit the tongue soon followed by melting sweet cream, salt, and the floral bouquet of summer and grass from the pastures upon which its maker grazed.

As far as the Gluten Frei Essen goes (that’s Gluten Free Food for all you anglophones), I’ve had little trouble. The list here is where I’ve scored specialty products like cookies, breads, cakes, crackers, flour blends, muesli, tea cakes, marzipan moons, and new surprises I never knew my little heart desired until now.

Reformhaus – They have the biggest selection of gf goodies and other natural offerings. I even bought cinnamon shoe inserts here!

Teggingerstraße 14
78315 Radolfzell, Germany
Tel: +49 07732 943888
and
Kaufhausstraße 7
78315 Radolfzell, Germany
Tel: +49 07732 2169

 REWE-Perfectly located right by my GastHaus they  have quite a big selection. I love the “ZweiBack” toasts and muesli with 5 different kinds of dried fruit in it

Böhringer Straße 57
78315 Radolfzell
Tel: +49 07732-942789

Open 8am-12am

Kaufland – This is Germanys version of Walmart; cheap stuff and a small selection of gluten free cookies and crackers in the “Diät” section.

Markthallenstraße 1
78315 Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Tel: +49 7732/98275 ext.0

DM Drogerie Markt – They have a huge selection of Schär products, which is the leader in the gf market here in Europe and in my opinion the best tasting.
Markthallenstraße 1
78315 Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Tel: +49 07732941957

Open Mon-Sat 8am-8pm

As far as going out to eat goes I found a website www.glutenfrei-essen.com from which I have found some places to go. Mainly I have been sticking around the town center eating Turkish, Thai, Italian and of course German food. I say, “Ich bin allergisch gegen weizen und gluten, haben sie etwas ohne Weizen” which means “I am Allergie to wheat and gluten, do you have anything without wheat?” and people are always helpful advising me what to get.

I’m obsessed with Turkish Döner Kebab which is marinated lamb and/or beef that is layered on a spit, roasted all day then shaved off to order. I even found a website for Döner lovers,  www.doenerfreund.de/. Just enter your German city name or zipcode in the “Dönersuch” box and bada-bing-bada-boom you’ve got a meal!

Pictured here from my favorite place called “Snack Point,” is the Döner Box: shaved meat, french fries and tzatziki sauce. OH yeah.

Snack Point
Bahnhofstraße
78315 Radolfzell Beim Westbahnhof
right across the street from the train station

I also love Asia Thai restaurant that makes everything fresh to order like my beloved Tom Kha Gai Soup.
Robert Gerwig Straße 12
78315 Radolfzell
Tel: +49 07732 – 52596

There have been many random encounters and much more to come. Click here for more info plus a calendar on Tourist Delights in Radolfzell. As for now Guten Appetit, and enjoy this video of my friend Alex and myself enchanted by the Amazing Radish Cutter at WienFest Reichenau (Wine Festival)!

Positively yours,

The Gluten Free Traveler

2 thoughts on “Radolfzell, Germany: “Ich lerne Deutsch!”

  1. Wow you wrote that well, you convinced me to go there and im already here!
    I didnt even know everything you wrote about! and i think i have been here nearly 3 months !
    Du hast das einfach super gemacht!

Leave a Reply

